Gallery

Major adventures as an RM

8 Dec

Okay so before I resume with the site adventures again I want to tell you what I have been up to for the past few weeks. I promised to do a post specifically on one of the first major adventures that I had. This was when my family traveled to Mexico for a humanitarian project. This has been an annual tradition for over five years now. I have talked about this a little bit before   in an earlier blog post.

This year we went to Mexico and my family and a dozen or so other families helped to change the lives of families in Tijuana Mexico. This year our projects consisted of building homes, reconstructing homes, repairing homes, and also helping with a variety of humanitarian needs for the people there. I was able to assist more in humanitarian efforts this year than in past years.  One day another girl and I sewed together 45 baby receiving blankets and prepared many quilts for the people there. I have always enjoyed how much they appreciate what we do but something that is always bound to happen when you are involved in such a great event is that you are blessed and feel the love of God very powerfully in your life. This is a principle that is taught many times in the Book of Mormon. One of my favorite scriptures is Mosiah 2:17, another favorite scripture is found in the New Testament in Matthew 25:40. I know that when we are serving others we truly are in the service of God.

Often when we are preparing to go to Mexico people ask us why we are willing to leave families, skip Thanksgiving, and risk so much just to do something so small like build a home or sew a quilt.As I have done this more and more I have come to appreciate one of the greatest gifts of God. That gift is Charity and it is ability to love others as Jesus Christ does. That not only means loving but doing, saying, acting, caring, and serving as Jesus Christ would. If you would like to know more about what Charity is check out this section from the Book of Mormon, Moroni 7:40-48. I was thinking about what Charity is and I why I do the things that I do and I found a really great video. This is a group of young women from a town in the state where I am from and it is how they are showing charity in their own special way.  I hope that you will always strive to have a spirit of Charity in everything that you do.

 

Leave a Reply

